Students at Lincoln County High School were able to enter their work in a writing contest sponsored by Creative Communications, and several had their works selected for publication. This company holds contests throughout the year and students have the opportunity to submit work. If they are selected, their work will appear in a publication and students can then consider themselves “published writers.”

English teacher Sherrin McHenry submitted around 100 essays and the following 35 were chosen for publication: Jana Ahlstrom, Sam Anderson, Sydney Anderson, Kimberlie Barfield, Frank Barrett, Sarah Butler, Kaitlin Cheeney, Kaylee Ernst, Asia Frehner, Jordyn Garrison, Lizzy Gloeckner, Hannah Hafen, Chesnee Harding, Savannah Harr, Alexis Huska, Brandon Jackson, Jillyn Katschke, Kori Lee, Bridon Lewis, Shantel Lister, Jesse Mathews, Kayla Mathews, Tori Mcginty, McClain O’Connor, Kandace Ottley, Emma Pearson, Preston Robbins, Abby Schimbeck, Samantha Smith, Wade Stever, Tanji Tibbitts, Allyssa Wadsworth, Jade Walker, Aspen Wilkin and Michael Winters.

Recently, McHenry submitted 52 poems for consideration and 25 were selected for publication: Jana Ahlstrom, Ali Barnett, Paul Boag, Sarah Butler, Jared Carter, Asia Frehner,Lizzy Gloeckner, Hannah Hafen, Chesnee Harding, Savannah Harr, Lena Hensel, Brandon Jackson, Thalia Katschke, Bridon Lewis, Emma Pearson, Dylan Phillips, Jordan Phillips, Abby Schimbeck, Alex Severns, Wade Stever, Raymond Thompson, Brianna Tibbitts, Easton Tingey, Ally Wadsworth and Michael Winters.
For more information, log on to

Congratulations students— “If you write, you live forever.” Keep up the great work!