Brook Higbee

Brook Higbee

Pahranagat Valley senior Brook Higbee and Sandy Valley senior Esmerelda Solano were named by vote of the league coaches as Co-MVPs for the Southern Division IV volleyball.

It is the second year in a row that the PVHS libero was given the honor. Last year, Jamie Hansen earned it.

Panther coach Ginger Whipple said she thought the choice of Higbee “would be pretty obvious when you see her game. She’s talented, aggressive, a leader on the floor and has led this team for several years.”

Having the team’s libero be named MVP for the second consecutive year “is a tremendous compliment to a defensive player,” said Whipple. “They don’t usually get recognized, because they are not the flashy ones, the ones that stand out in a lot of people’s minds, unless they really know volleyball.”

Other Pahranagat Valley players named to the all-star teams were Madison Harris and Karley Whipple on First Team, and Allyse Frehner and Madilyn Taylor on the Second Team.

Division IV Honors

All-Southern League

First Team

Maggie Cathcart, Beatty; Claudia Granados, Beatty; Madison Harris, Pahranagat Valley; Hayley Perez, Sandy Valley; Hannah Thormahlen, Indian Springs; Karley Whipple, Pahranagat Valley.

Second Team

Sandra Dunn, Tonopah; Alyson Egbert, Pahranagat Valley; Jaunda Fansher, Sandy Valley; Allyse Frehner, Pahranagat Valley; Madi Taylor, Pahranagat Valley; Emily Valko, Sandy Valley.