Dave Maxwell Ken Higbee holds high the state championship trophy for Pahranagat Valley, a record eighth straight title.

Dave Maxwell
Ken Higbee holds high the state championship trophy for Pahranagat Valley, a record eighth straight title.

In the Best of Nevada All-State Prep football players for 2015, presented by the Las Vegas Review-Journal, Pahranagat Valley’s head coach Ken Higbee was selected as Coach of the Year.

In his 19th season, Higbee guided the Panthers to their eighth consecutive 8-man state championship. Pahranagat Valley’s 54-28 win over Whittell in the Division IV title game ran its winning streak to 93 games, tying the national 8-man record, and stands as No. 3 on the all-time list in any classification.

In an interview with the Record, Higbee said he would like to share the honor equally with the other coaches on his staff. “Our program is about what everyone does, not one individual. It goes just as much to the parents and our community as well.”

Higbee has been named Southern Division IV coach of the year on other occasions, but this is the first as statewide honor.

As is normal, only Division 1 and 1-A players were selected for first and second team All-State. However, Lincoln County’s McClain O’Connor and Pahranagat Valley’s Tabor Maxwell and Shawn Wadsworth were named as Honorable Mention. Corey Huber of Whittell was also Honorable Mention.

Regarding the Southern Division IV All Star football team, Pahranagat senior Shawn Wadsworth was named the league’s Most Valuable Player. As a receiver, he caught 56 passes for 1,076 yards and 21 touchdowns, which was second in all of Southern Nevada. He was credited with 105 tackles on the season, and accounted for 142 points. As a running back, he carried 14 times for 108 yards.

In his high school career with the Panthers, Wadsworth is one of those players who never lost a game, accounted for 2,756 yards receiving, 146 catches, and 44 receiving TDs. His lone rushing touchdown came in his sophomore season.

His selection as league MVP is the fourth year in a row for a Pahranagat player to be given the award. Wade Leavitt had it last year, Jake Carter in 2013, and it is believed Tyler Higbee in 2012.

Maxwell was co-offensive MVP along with Spring Mountain quarterback Diquan Spiller.

Maxwell threw for a school record 2,766 yards on 131 of 237, 45 touchdowns and four interceptions. That was second in Southern Nevada behind Liberty’s Kenyon Oblad with 3,106 yards.

Maxwell’s career totals are 7,937 yards, 121 toHigbee earns Nevada Coach of the Year honor

uchdowns, and puts him in third place in the All-time state record book behind Jarrett Solomon of Bishop Gorman (10,113) and Jason Peters of Coleville (8,740).

Garrett Higbee was the league Defensive MVP.

On defense, Wadsworth was First Team linebacker, Daved Wilson, defensive end, Cody Stirling was second team cornerback, and Tyson Jorgenson second team defensive end.

No report on where Christian Higbee or David Ingram may have been placed. Ingram had 816 yards on 97 carries and 10 touchdowns. Higbee had 508 yards on 85 carries and eight touchdowns.