Both county high school softball teams were represented well on their respective division teams.

Seven-time league and four-time Division IV state softball champion Pahranagat Valley had seven players named to the 2016 All Southern League team, including co-MVP Brook Higbee and Coach of the Year Mike Sparrow. Lincoln County High School had eight players named on the Division III All League teams. Josie Burgess was named Player of the Year in softball for Lincoln who were state runners-up this year.

It is the third year in a row for the Panthers to have the MVP, as Jamie Hansen received the honor in 2015 and Kennedy Huntsman in 2014.

On his coach of the year award, Sparrow said, “The award goes to the coach, but in truth I have a great assistant coaches who also need to be recognized, you can’t do it alone. Dave Hansen, Kyla Linares, Stevie Higbee think and do a lot of the same things and pick up on things they see to add to the team abilities and success.” He has been named coach of the year before, he recalled, but couldn’t remember when.

In Division III softball, Lincoln County’s Josie Burgess was Pitcher of the Year.

Brenna Chevez of Needles was named the MVP and co-Coach of the Year honors went to Needles’ Tony Rubalcaba and Lake Mead’s Ericka Hetzer.

Lincoln players on First Team were Alysa Rowe, Cameron Lloyd, Kia Phillips, Chesnee Harding and Easton Tingey. Second Team included Abby Schimbeck, Drew Cardinal and Hannah Lytle. Honorable mention to Kalie Kelley, Brynlee Wadsworth, Sadie Teel, and Hannah Bleak.

Division IV

All-Southern League

First Team

P–Aspen Avery, Indian Springs; Aryana Cuellar, Round Mountain; Ashlyn Wadsworth, Pahranagat Valley. C-Madalyn Taylor, Pahranagat Valley. 1B–Kaitlyn Davis, Pahranagat Valley. 2B–Sadie Heath, Indian Springs. 3B–Madison Harris, Pahranagat Valley. SS–Sara Hendrickson, Round Mountain. OF–Karley Whipple, Pahranagat Valley; Mariah Mayfield, Round Mountain; Kayla Noyes, Indian Springs; Lexy Bayne, Tonopah. DP Hannah Prine, Indian Springs. UTL–Esmeralda Solano, Sandy Valley.

Second Team

P–Heaven Fitch, Tonopah. C–Hayley Cuellar, Round Mountain. 1B–Alyssa Hanks, Round Mountain. 2B–Tessa North, Tonopah. 3B–Halle Jackson, Indian Springs. SS–Lauren Klapper, Tonopah. OF–Alyson Egbert, Pahranagat Valley; Tia Sample, Round Mountain; Lorin Lentsch, Indian Springs. DP–Alyssa Newell, Tonopah. UTL–Morgan Harris, Pahranagat Valley.

co-Most Valuable Players–Brook Higbee, Pahranagat Valley; Thormahlen, Indian Springs

Coach of the Year–Mike Sparrow, Pahranagat Valley