pvhs-volleyballOn Wednesday last week, Pahranagat squeezed in another non-league volleyball game with a top 3A team, Pahrump Valley (14-11), and came away with a 3-1 win.

“We lost the first set,” said coach Ginger Whipple. “I was really worried because we came out slow like we did with Moapa, and I didn’t know if we would recover, but the girls did, they challenged us and we challenged them. We just finally cleaned a few things up, less errors on our hitting, less service errors. Our defense was really good. The girls decided they didn’t want to lose this one, and picked it up a little better.” Scores were 17-25, 25-16, 25-20, 25-23.

Karley Whipple led the Lady Panthers with 18 kills and 14 digs. Madison Harris contributed nine kills and digs. Alyson Egbert had 8 kills and Allyse Frehner accounted for 35 assists.

Pahrump is the current leader in the 3A Sunset League, and it was only the fourth time the two teams have played since 2007, and first time since 2012. Pahranagat (14-5) now leads the series 3-1.

Back in league action on Friday at Indian Springs, Madison Harris had 15 assists, six kills and five digs as the Panthers swept the Thunderbirds, 25-8, 25-6, 25-22.

Allyse Frehner had 26 assists for the Panthers and Alyson Egbert had 11 kills. Karley Whipple added seven kills.

The team completes the league season this week having played at Round Mountain yesterday and hosting Sandy Valley today, then Beatty comes here Oct. 27.

The girls have two non-league matches left, at White Pine Oct. 25, and Nov. 1 at Lincoln County. Against White Pine, PVHS is 5-3 since 20008, and against Lincoln County holds a 16-2 lead in the series since 2007, including the last four in a row.

In the 1A North, defending state champion Smith Valley (15-5-2, 9-2) is trailing Virginia City (18-3, 10-1) in the west division. The teams split on the season schedule. The 1A Northern regional tournament is Nov. 4-5 in Elko. The 1A Southern regional tourney begins Nov. 2 with the quarterfinals at select schools. The semifinals and finals will be Nov. 5 at whichever team is the regular season champion. Pahranagat is the six-time defending regular season champion, and three-time defending regional tournament champion.