County Public Defender and Caliente City Attorney Dylan Frehner won the Lincoln County District Attorney primary June 12 over incumbent Daniel Hooge.

County Clerk Lisa Lloyd said that, in a lower than normal voter turnout, Frehner tallied 502 votes to 313 for Hooge. Frehner was not available for comment after the election results were made public.

Hooge said it has been a great eight years for him as district attorney, and he wished Frehner the best.

Hooge said he was not sure what his future might be.

Frehner will appear unopposed on the November general election ballot.

Bevan Lister was elected to the board of county commissioners from District B over Janine Woodworth and Frank Hulse.

In other important races statewide, following an expensive and sometimes bitter battle, Democrat Steve Sisolak won the primary over fellow Clark County Commissioner Chris Giunchigliani by a wide margin, gathering 72,726 votes to 56,491 for Giunchigliani.

On the Republican side, state Attorney General (AG) Adam Laxalt, the youngest AG in the U.S., cruised in the primary over eight challengers with more than 71 percent of the vote.

In the race for the U.S. Senate, Republican Dean Heller and Democratic Congresswoman Jacky Rosen won their primaries, making their race in November likely to be one of the most closely watched in the nation.

In the House of Representatives, in District 4, two former congressmen from the district, Republican Cresent Hardy and Democrat Steven Horsford won the primary and will face each other in the general election

In other state races of concern to local voters in State Assembly District 36, Republican challenger Dennis Hof edged out Republican incumbent James Oscarson.

In the race for attorney general, Wes Duncan had a wide margin of victory over Craig Mueller to face Democrat Aaron Ford in November.

Elsewhere, Democrat Kate Marshall emerged victorious for lt. governor, and will face Republican primary winner Michael Roberson.

Barbara Cegavske will continue as secretary of state, fending off a challenge from Ernest Aldridge.

The state treasurer race went to Bob Beers over Derek Uehara.

Back in Lincoln County, Mick Lloyd was re-elected as Grover C. Dils Hospital District Trustee, District A, with Terry Avery in District B.

Pat Kelley, Joseph “Ty” Mizer, and Wade Poulson all retained their seats on the Board of School District Trustees.

Nola Holton was re-elected as Pahranagat Valley Justice of the Peace.

Pick up the June 15 edition of the Lincoln County Record for local vote tallies for all primary races, as well as other news and information.