In Nevada, Democrats did well in the U.S. House and the Senate, as well as electing the state’s first Democratic governor in over 20 years.

Washoe and Clark County, alone, decided several of the important races in the state, outvoting the other 15 counties.

Jacky Rosen won only two of Nevada’s 17 counties, Washoe and Clark, in the race for the Senate seat held by Dean Heller. However, that was all she needed to join Catherine Cortez-Masto as the state’s second Democratic Senator. The total was Rosen, 486,794, and Heller, 438,516.

Steve Sisolak, Clark County Commission Board chair, took the governor’s office in the same manner, outpolling Attorney General Adam Laxalt in only Washoe and Clark County. The vote was 477,000 for Sisolak and 437,690 for Laxalt.

It was the same story again for Lt. Governor. Democrat Kate Marshall topped Republican Michael Roberson 483,244 to 419,155. She won Washoe and Clark County and he won all the rest.

In the U.S. House, Democrats won three of the four Congressional districts. Dina Titus retained her seat in District 1, defeating challenger Joyce Bentley. Susie Lee won over Danny Tarkanian in District 3, and former Congressman Steven Horsford defeated another former Congressman, Cresent Hardy, in District 4 by a vote of 120,888 to 101,748.

Republican incumbent Mark Amodei held onto his House seat in District 2 over Democrat Clint Koble on a count of 167,427 to 120,191.

Democrat Aaron Ford edged Republican Wes Duncan out for attorney general in a tight race, 453,290 to 449,030.

Incumbent Republican Barbara Cegavske topped Democrat Aaron Nelson for secretary of state by a count of 465,096 to 458,632.

Democrat Zach Conine won the job of state treasurer over Bob Beers on a vote of 456,943 to 451,081.

In Lincoln County, Clerk Lisa Lloyd said her numbers showed that there was a strong turnout of voters this year.

Locally, voters selected Heller over Rosen by a wide margin of 1,547 to 283. Voters also went for Laxalt over Sisolak by another wide margin of 1,440 to 266.

Statewide on the ballot measures, voters defeated Question 3 which would have required a state constitutional amendment allowing consumers to pick their own electric power provider by 2023. The vote was 641,490 “No” and 314,444 “Yes.”

The other five ballot measures, which ranged from solar panels and oxygen tanks to tampon taxes, were all approved.

The other energy-focused measure, Question 6, was passed. That measure proposed a constitutional amendment that would require state electric producers to buy or generate at least 50 percent of their power from renewable sources by 2030. It will have to go before the voters again in 2020.

Also passed were the measures to scrap sales taxes on female hygiene products and medical devices, incorporate crime victims rights into the constitution, and automatically register residents to vote at the DMV.

Lincoln County voters were against five of the six ballot measures including Measure 3. That was turned down on a vote of 1,743 to 205.

However, Lincoln County did approve Measure 4, tax exemptions on certain medical devices, by a narrow margin of 985 to 920.

Republican candidate Dennis Hof, of Pahrump, won the election to the Nevada State Assembly, District 36, which covers Lincoln County, despite the fact that the brothel owner died three weeks ago at age 72.

County officials will appoint a Republican to take his place in the assembly.

In local races around Lincoln County, District Attorney Dylan Frehner, County Clerk Lisa Lloyd, Assessor Mark Holt, Treasurer Shawn Frehner, and County Commissioners Kevin Phillips and Jared Brackenbury, who all ran unopposed, were elected.

Republican Bevin Lister took a seat on the county commission, topping Democrat Ron Hubble 1,464 to 464.

Amy Elmer won the position of Lincoln County county recorder-auditor over opponent Bob McCleary on a vote of 1,097 to 823.

Lincoln County School District Trustee, District B, went to Carol Hansen over current Trustee Carolyn Harr by a vote of 1,256 to 576.

Meadow Valley Justice of the Peace Mike Crowley was reelected by a vote of 847 to 524 over Jeff Childers.

Sheriff Kerry Lee was re-elected over Deputy Evan Shimbeck on a count of 1,376 to 549.